The natural medicine of
Hildegard von Bingen


Saint Hildegard von Bingen (1098-1179) was educated in a Benedictine monastery and was later herself abbess in Rupertsberg monastery near Bingen. Even as a child she had visions. At the age of about 43 the mystic recognized it as God's commission to write them down. In addition to theological, philosophical and musical works, medical writings were also created in this way. The extensive knowledge contained therein has lost none of its topicality to this day.

As a holistic healing system, the medicine of the saints is based on the Christian image of man. It regards the human body, mind and soul as an inseparable unit and part of the divine creation. Hildegard knew how to combine the medical knowledge of the time with folk medicine. Her work “Physika” contains almost 2000 prescriptions, on the basis of which the Austrian doctor Dr. Gottfried Hertzka developed Hildegard medicine.

The five pillars of health according to Hildegard von Bingen


The holistic approach of Saint Hildegard von Bingen is based on these five pillars of health:

  • Nourishing the soul
    According to Hildegard, prayer, meditation and a balanced daily routine should harmonize the soul and bring it into balance.
  • Healthy eating
    According to the Saints, all foods have natural healing properties. This has to be used in a targeted manner.
  • Strengthening the mental defenses
    To this end, Hildegard von Bingen defines 35 virtues and vices. If the person has recognized this, he can work with it and purify his soul.
  • Detoxification of the body
    In order to mitigate the consequences of poor nutrition and negative environmental influences, Hildegard von Bingen relies on detoxification of the body. To do this, she uses proven elimination procedures such as cupping, bloodletting or treatment with leeches. Fasting also plays a central role here.
  • Regularity in lifestyle
    According to Hildegard, a balanced rhythm between waking and sleeping as well as between work and relaxation also makes a decisive contribution to health.

Four juices and four elements


Four juices played an essential role in ancient medicine:

  • Blut
  • Phlegm
  • yellow bile
  • black bile

In the medicine of Saint Hildegard von Bingen, too, these four juices are responsible for a person's condition and disposition. When they are out of balance, the person gets sick. Hildegard names various remedies to restore the balance between the juices.

At the same time, the great scholar also includes the system of the four elements (fire, water, air and earth) in her diagnosis. For her, both systems are inextricably linked.

Healing with plants and precious stones


Hildegard von Bingen works with natural remedies. Whether in plants, animals or precious stones - she sees valuable divine healing powers in all of creation. Medicinal plants that influence the hormonal system and metabolism are particularly important to her. She divides these into different groups based on their properties. There are cold, hot, warming or neutral plants. There are those who withdraw energy and there are those who add energy.

According to Hildegard, these properties are crucial for the treatment of diseases. For example, a disease that involves a lot of heat must be treated with cooling medicinal herbs. Conversely, to cure diseases that cause coldness and lack of energy, warming medicinal plants are required.

Hildegard von Bingen also attributes healing properties to gemstones. She regards them as God-given natural treasures whose properties we should make use of.

Original recipes according to Hildegard von Bingen

Login

Registration

The password should be at least 12 characters long and contain 1 special character.

We use your personal information in order to provide the best possible user experience on this site, to manage access to your account and for other purposes that are included in our website Privacy Policy are described.

No products in the cart.

Die Naturmedizin der
Hildegard von Bingen


Die Heilige Hildegard von Bingen (1098-1179) wurde in einem Benediktinerkloster erzogen und war später selbst Äbtissin im Kloster Rupertsberg bei Bingen. Schon als Kind hatte sie Visionen. Im Alter von etwa 43 Jahren erkannte die Mystikerin es als Auftrag Gottes, diese niederzuschreiben. Neben theologischen, philosophischen und musikalischen Werken entstanden so auch medizinische Schriften. Das darin enthaltene umfangreiche Wissen hat bis heute an Aktualität nichts verloren.

Als ganzheitliches Heilsystem basiert die Medizin der Heiligen auf dem christlichen Menschenbild. Sie betrachtet Körper, Geist und Seele des Menschen als untrennbare Einheit sowie als Teil der göttlichen Schöpfung. Hildegard verstand es, das damalige medizinische Wissen mit der Volksmedizin zu verbinden. Ihr Werk „Physika“ enthält fast 2000 Rezepte, auf deren Basis der österreichische Arzt Dr. Gottfried Hertzka die Hildegard-Medizin entwickelte.

Die fünf Säulen der Gesundheit nach Hildegard von Bingen


Der ganzheitliche Ansatz der Heiligen Hildegard von Bingen baut auf diesen fünf Säulen der Gesundheit auf:

  • Nähren der Seele
    Gebet, Meditation und eine ausgewogener Tagesablauf sollen laut Hildegard die Seele harmonisieren und ins Gleichgewicht bringen.
  • Gesunde Ernährung
    Nach Auffassung der Heiligen besitzen alle Lebensmittel natürliche Heilkräfte. Diese gilt es gezielt zu nutzen.
  • Stärkung der seelischen Abwehrkräfte
    Dazu definiert Hildegard von Bingen 35 Tugenden und Laster. Hat der Mensch diese erkannt, so kann er damit arbeiten und seine Seele reinigen.
  • Entgiftung des Körpers
    Um die Folgen falscher Ernährung und negativer Umwelteinflüsse zu mildern, setzt Hildegard von Bingen auf eine Entgiftung des Körpers. Sie nutzt dazu bewährte Ausleitungsverfahren wie Schröpfen, Aderlass oder die Behandlung mit Blutegeln. Auch das Fasten spielt hier eine zentrale Rolle.
  • Regelmäßigkeit in der Lebensführung
    Ein ausgewogener Rhythmus zwischen Wachen und Schlafen sowie zwischen Arbeit und Erholung trägt laut Hildegard ebenfalls entscheidend zur Gesundheit bei.

Vier Säfte und vier Elemente


Bereits in der Medizin der Antike spielten vier Säfte eine wesentliche Rolle:

  • Blut
  • Schleim (Phlegma)
  • gelbe Galle
  • schwarze Galle

Auch in der Medizin der Heiligen Hildegard von Bingen sind diese vier Säfte verantwortlich für den Zustand und die Veranlagungen eines Menschen. Wenn sie sich im Ungleichgewicht befinden, wird der Mensch krank. Hildegard nennt verschiedene Heilmittel, um das Gleichgewicht zwischen den Säften wiederherzustellen.

Parallel dazu bezieht die große Gelehrte auch das System der vier Elemente (Feuer, Wasser, Luft und Erde) in ihre Diagnostik mit ein. Beide Systeme sind für sie untrennbar miteinander verbunden.

Heilen mit Pflanzen und Edelsteinen


Hildegard von Bingen arbeitet mit Heilmitteln aus der Natur. Egal ob in Pflanzen, Tieren oder Edelsteinen – sie sieht in der gesamten Schöpfung wertvolle göttliche Heilkräfte. Besonders wichtig sind ihr Heilpflanzen, die Hormonsystem und Stoffwechsel beeinflussen. Diese unterteilt sie anhand ihrer Eigenschaften in verschiedene Gruppen. So gibt es kalte, heiße, wärmende oder neutrale Pflanzen. Es gibt solche, die Energie entziehen und solche, die Energie zuführen.

Diese Eigenschaften sind laut Hildegard entscheidend für die Behandlung von Krankheiten. Eine Krankheit beispielsweise, die viel Hitze mit sich bringt, muss mit kühlenden Heilpflanzen behandelt werden. Umgekehrt braucht es zur Heilung von Krankheiten, die Kälte und Energielosigkeit bewirken, wärmende Arzneipflanzen.

Edelsteinen schreibt Hildegard von Bingen ebenfalls heilende Wirkung zu. Sie betrachtet sie als von Gott gegebene Naturschätze, deren Eigenschaften wir uns zunutze machen sollten.

Original-Rezepturen nach Hildegard von Bingen

Login

Registrierung

Wir verwenden deine personenbezogenen Daten, um eine möglichst gute Benutzererfahrung auf dieser Website zu ermöglichen, den Zugriff auf dein Konto zu verwalten und für weitere Zwecke, die in unserer Datenschutzerklärung beschrieben sind.

Keine Produkte im Warenkorb.